//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Everyone has a Story

 

When you see someone on the street it’s almost a reflex to judge them based on what you see. We go by the surface and use stereotypes to come up with the story we think fits. We do this with people we know also. Friends and family see what’s on the surface and make assumptions based on that. The problem with never diving below the surface is that you can never truly see to the heart of the person.

My journey so far hasn’t been smooth. I can be my biggest stumbling block at times. I allow my fears and insecurities to hold me back. What amazes me constantly is the fact that nobody really sees this. People never really SEE me. They compliment me on how “together” my life is. They call me confident and mature. They are proud of my level of responsibility. People call me when there is a problem to be solved. They rely on me to be a voice of wisdom and a calm presence in a crisis.

True Confessions:

Quite frankly it’s exhausting trying to be the person people perceive me to be. Perhaps in trying to live up to that perception I am being misleading. As I said in love and other journeys¬†¬†we all have several stories. Each story within us makes up the complicated pattern that defines us. By letting other people have a say in that definition we become relate-able. By letting other people completely define us we become lost. I am often lost in being who people need me to be, because I am not who I need me to be. Sure I would like to have those elusive good qualities people profess to see in me, but is “fake it til you make it” the way to achieve that goal?

About Just Jo

I'm just me. Unfortunately I'm still not sure what that means. I know I'm a music lover, sometimes I write, food (the making, discovering, and eating) brings me joy, but none of that is ME. At some point writing this blog may uncover who I am.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Just Jo

Just Jo

I'm just me. Unfortunately I'm still not sure what that means. I know I'm a music lover, sometimes I write, food (the making, discovering, and eating) brings me joy, but none of that is ME. At some point writing this blog may uncover who I am.

View Full Profile →

Recent Comments

Jeyna Grace on Dealing with Pain…

Categories

Follow journey2jojo on WordPress.com
